top of page


"As the rotation of sun, moon and wind hold this vast universe together,

it is expressed as the macrocosm of this world. Pitta (sun), Kapha (moon) and Vata (air) hold this body together and are expressed as the microcosm of this body. Together, these outer

and inner worlds are seen as one."     

Ashtanga Hridaya 2.11


The five elements , ether, air, fire, water, and earth, make up the three doshas - Vata - Pitta - Kapha. Each dosha is made up of two elements. And each element has qualities describing both our physical and mental constitution, or our prakriti. We get our specific prakriti at conception, our true self. 

Vata (Air & Ether) – governs movement, communication, and consciousness


Pitta (Fire & Water) – governs digestion, heat, and ambition

Kapha (Earth & water) – governs growth, lubrication, stamina, and memory


We are all made up of all three doshas but how much of each dosha will vary person to person. For example you may be Pitta/Vata or Vata/Kapha. There are many combinations giving us our constitution/prakriti. It is when we have too much of one or more of these doshas that we find ourselves out of balance or vikriti. Ayurveda teaches us how to recognize when we are out of balance and what to do to come back into balance


Ayurveda teaches us to use nature as our guide. Working with the five elements - ether, air, fire, water, & earth we can begin to develop a relationship with these elements and how they affect our overall health. Using these principles, we are able to learn daily routines or dinacharya, that will help us to find balance. 

Ayurveda's approach to health is a holistic one. Ayurveda looks at the whole person - your body, mind, & spirit.

Whether you are seeking better sleep, more energy, relief from joint pain, or help with creating a personal practice, I can help.

Together we'll look at where you might be out of balance and from there plan a daily routine that fits you and your lifestyle.

bottom of page